PDA

View Full Version : new member asking for help

texasrangers
10-06-08, 20:07
First of all, this is one of the most helpful and informative forums I've ever visited. The best in fact. The AR chart by Rob_s is such a great tool, thank you. I am new to the AR platform and until about a week ago wanted an M1A, but have since changed my mind for various reasons. Basically this is what I was thinking:

a 16 inch LMT upper $485
Enhanced LMT BCG $289
Charles Daly Lower $290

What do you guys (the experts) think about this? Do you guys think its really necessary to get the enhanced BCG? I am never going to sell this rifle I just want something that will still go bang when my grandson has it because chances are he'll never be able to buy his own gun. According to the Chart, the Charles Daly lowers are very good - I think. What is the word on these? Should I get something else that is better? Or should I get something else that is just as good for less $? I also will need a carry handle with rear sight - or a good flip up sight - where can I get these? Any and all help is appreciated.

rob_s
10-06-08, 20:26
Skip the enhanced and save yourself $160. Otherwise looks good.

Take a look at the Larue Tactical fixed rear sight, or the Troy flipup. Which you choose will depend on the optic you choose. For a 1x red dot sight, go with the Larue.

C4IGrant
10-06-08, 21:10
As Rob said, skip the enhanced BCG. Your upper and lower choices are good.

C4

texasrangers
10-06-08, 22:39
Could yo

texasrangers
10-06-08, 22:52
Accidentally hit enter - could you guys link me to a thread explaining what I would have to do to put these parts together. Hopefully a video would help. Can I just pop them in and go or do I need tools and whatnot. Thanks. Also, do you think I would be better off going with a BCM upper and BCG since LMT doesnt know the specs or what moly grease is.

rob_s
10-07-08, 04:39
less than what she does here (http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=mVlRdYbD07A).