PDA

View Full Version : Build or buy M4 clone?

beavis87
10-04-17, 23:44
I'm a soldier and armorer in the US Army and I've realized how little range time I get (probably cause i'm a pog), and its not like I don't want to go. Its just that we don't get the opportunity to go that often and its not like I can just sign it out and go shooting on a weekend. Being the armorer and having to handle issued weapons on a regular basis makes this more evident. Never built a gun in my life and don't consider field stripping weapons, from M9 to Mk19, as anything like building a stripped lower or barrel on an AR. Mechanic by training so I'm confident I wouldn't fail completely. However, on a soldier's budget what makes more sense? I want to build an near identical copy of a US Army issued M4A1 minus the automatic function (we don't qualify with that anyway) so I can maintain proficiency in my issued weapon and just overall be more comfortable on the platform.

mil-spec M4A1 1:7 twist 14.5" heavy barrel with M4 feed ramps with sight tower
carbine length gas system
pinned and welded A2 flash hider
mil spec trigger
knights armament rail adapter system
matech backup iron sight
mil spec charging handle
collapsible stock
and not sure what else

Looking around some companies seem to make near identical M4A1 clones with the exception of a longer barrel, a lighter barrel, no rail system, no rear sight or different rear sight, and different flash hider. My goal is an exact copy as possible for as cheap as possible. Seems Colt and FN do make some and either, still make M4's or have made M4's for the military, however they seem kinda expensive. So I'm willing to compromise on uppers and lowers and stocks if I can get basically the same thing. Did some searching and it seems there's no limit to how many cheap AR-15's out there!

So what is the best value:
Ar-15 complete that has the most components already
AR-15 parts kit
AR-15 upper with mil-spec length barrel and construction