PDA

View Full Version : SS Barrels. Tough Enough?

No Bananas
10-09-08, 10:13
I'm still learning about ARs, their parts and how they function. I learn a lot through experience and by pestering you guys here :D.

I'm going to get another lower reciever and send it in on a form 1 for SBR. I want this one's main barrel length to be 12 or 12.5".

I've been looking at the SS barrel uppers. Larue and Noveske to be specific. I read post after post of how folks love these two. Take em to classes and supposedly beat the tar out of em. I seem to remember a post by Steve from ADCO where he used a SS barrel (can't remember manufacture, bit don't think it was Larue or Noveske) and put it through a torture test, and it came through very well.

When I read Noveske's website about barrel care for their SS polygonal tubes it seems like they are more for accuracy than SHTF. They go over a very specific break in, and most notably, state not to overheat the barrel as it will cause it to wear faster and lose accuracy. Yes, I'm sure this would happen to any barrel (chromed or not), but does it happen very fast for the SS polygonal tubes? They also say not to shoot it dry or it will really foul your barrel. Geez, seems like it needs a lot of TLC. I know the Noveske is spot on for accuracy, reliability and gives a velocity boost, but what if the S does HTF? Can I depend on it if I have to heat it up? Unless the SHTF, I'll probably shoot about 2-3K rounds a year out of it. Will it last a while or will I toss the barrel in five years?

Anyway, I guess I'm asking those in the know if I the Larue and/or Noveske can stand the test of time and take a beatin'?

bullitt5172
10-09-08, 11:15
Here is Steve's post you referenced: