PDA

View Full Version : Factory pinned lo pro gas block complete upper recommendations

dirkmagurk
10-28-17, 15:54
I recently have been looking around for a factory complete upper with a pinned lo profile gas block. Preferably one with a light weight barrel and a free float quad rail. My first thought was to order a DD M4 V5 with their LW barrel and 12” quad but it seems they’ve been discontinued.

Jaysop
10-28-17, 17:05
Noveske pins their gas blocks. Also LMT MRP barrels are all pinned as well. Off the top of my head that's what I came up with.
I never had a problem with my BCMs and the set screws fwiw.

nightchief
10-28-17, 18:20
Sons of Liberty Gun Works will pin a low pro gas block on their factory built uppers for a small fee

dirkmagurk
10-28-17, 19:40
I've wanted an LMT MRP for awhile but they're expensive "at least for me" and impossible to find in my area. I have no experience with Noveske, heard good things but for that kind of money I'd rather go with the LMT. I've never had an issue with BCM gas blocks either, but I don't exactly run them hard. A friend of mine showed me how he removes their gas blocks without a torch. He removes the handguard and shoots two or three 28 round magazines through the rifle, using gloves and a magwell/magazine hold or laying prone using the mag as a monopod. This gets the gas block hot enough to loosen the set screws fairly easily.

Jaysop
10-28-17, 19:45
Noveske is top quality but exspensive.
If your in the market for an MRP at a good price look over at Rainer arms. They have the uppers on sale right now.

rockapede
10-28-17, 21:56
I recently have been looking around for a factory complete upper with a pinned lo profile gas block. Preferably one with a light weight barrel and a free float quad rail. My first thought was to order a DD M4 V5 with their LW barrel and 12” quad but it seems they’ve been discontinued.