PDA

View Full Version : Question regarding O-ring over extractor spring?

ICBM556
11-04-17, 18:34
I have a brand new 10.5 andro upper with a brand new BCM BCG with a H3 buffer. The BCG did not come with the o ring. When shooting the upper for the first time, after about 2 full mags I started having FTE with another round trying to feed. I then put the O ring over the extractor spring and that resolved the issue.

My question,

Its a little worrying, to me, that the reliable operation of this gun relies on a 5 cent O ring. Am I thinking about this the wrong way or what? I am fairly new to the AR platform and any insight into this would be appreciated.

Thank you.

TomMcC
11-04-17, 19:08
If the 5 cent O ring is what it takes to be reliable, so be it. An O ring is pretty fool proof in the end, doesn't really matter how much it cost if it works. With the harsher extraction/ejection cycle of the shorter guns this part of the fix has been around a long, long time. I suppose the other parts are the buffer, and make sure the gun isn't heavily over-gased. And be sure the O ring isn't some cheesy, done in by oil number. I think the good ones are made of nitrile.

ICBM556
11-04-17, 19:11
If the 5 cent O ring is what it takes to be reliable, so be it. An O ring is pretty fool proof in the end, doesn't really matter how much it cost if it works. With the harsher extraction/ejection cycle of the shorter guns this part of the fix has been around a long, long time. I suppose the other parts are the buffer, and make sure the gun isn't heavily over-gased. And be sure the O ring isn't some cheesy, done in by oil number. I think the good ones are made of nitrile.

Thanks, its a BCM o ring. Do I also need to run the black plastic insert?

quackhead
11-04-17, 19:22
Yes it should have the insert in there already

26 Inf
11-04-17, 19:24
Yes, use the insert. The O-ring supplements the insert, not the other way around.