PDA

View Full Version : Browning Hi Power

czgunner
11-05-17, 12:02
I recently picked up a MK3.
I’ve wanted one for a long time, and finally got a decent deal.
I know it’s considered dated, but I’m drawn to it.
It shoots pretty good, but the trigger is terrible. Even with the mag safety removed.
So, I’m going to send it out to have some work done. Probably Action Works.
I’m going to have better trigger, hammer seat installed. Heinie sights, and maybe a refinish.
For a “fighting”/carry gun, is there anything you experts would recommend?

MisterHelix
11-05-17, 12:27
The BHP is, in my opinion, the nicest of the old school classics. My last was a FBI/HRT clone worked over by the Novak custom shop. Really a nice pistol. Really pretty, nostalgic, classic, and cool.

Sold it.

Though I'm no expert, For a "fighting"/carry gun, I recommend a box stock Glock 19 or 17. I know, not what you were asking.

"Pretty" is not a quality that contributes to my survival, and that's all a "fighting gun" means to me.

My 2¢

yoni
11-05-17, 13:56
I carried a Hi Power for years as an issue pistol. I currently own 3 of them, a highly worked over Cylinder and Slide, a Novak Special Ops, and a stock pistol.

Modifications in my book are as follows remove magazine safety, good action job, if needed better sights.

If I was told I had to go back to carrying a Hi Power over my CZ P09/07. I would lose a lot of sleep over it. My main issue is the slide is way to narrow to mount a RDS.

Stealing a line from Forged in Fire, Your Hi Power "will kill"

gaijin
11-05-17, 14:59
Yeah; sights, good trigger and barrel crown if needed- you're GTG.
P-35 is one of my two primary carry handguns. I have total confidence in it.

VALG17
11-05-17, 15:10
The High Power is a fun novelty from yesteryear. I had a couple and enjoyed them. Sold them. Never looked back. I know, cool story, me.

Pilot1
11-05-17, 15:43