PDA

View Full Version : Recommended Semi-Auto Shotgun in New Jersey

veteran-USMC
11-09-17, 11:48
Gentlemen 2 days ago NJ elected a new Democratic Gov. who stated NJ will have stricter & tougher Gun Laws-will try to ban AR-15 rifles. I am looking into purchasing a semi-auto shotgun! I follow the rule of buying what my wife(5'tall & 135lbs.) can handle.
What do shooters think of Mossbergs 20SA semi-auto shotgun? Also can a woman the size of my wife handle a Berreta 1300 semi-auto shotgun? Ranges in NJ don't rent shotguns in my area-- so its you have to know for sure what will work for your needs!
Any suggestions on the above along with any recommended semi-auto shotguns that are reliable .This shotgun will be used solely for Home Defense.

PS I am a former Marine Veteran who has a lot of rifle experience & limited shotgun experience!

Kain
11-09-17, 12:42
Looking for hunting or HD guns? I know the Beretta is pretty well regarded. But, no experience with the mossberg model. Also, some light 20s are worse to shoot than a little larger 12 depending on load and buttpad.

Where in NJ are you? I know last few times I been there the stores that I visited had a rather short selection to even handle, tgat said, Sarco has a bunch of shotguns of various models, lots of hunting guns, but others as well and some pretty cheap. They next to the Heritage guild which while theur prices aren't great has a decent gun selection and possibly ability to rent, I dont know honestly. Both right across the NJ/PA border in PA.

veteran-USMC
11-09-17, 13:11
Looking for hunting or HD guns? I know the Beretta is pretty well regarded. But, no experience with the mossberg model. Also, some light 20s are worse to shoot than a little larger 12 depending on load and buttpad.