PDA

View Full Version : 1st Post with questions

novak1911freak
10-11-08, 11:36
Hello all,

I have lurked here occasionally for a while, mainly in the handgun section but I have recently become interested in the AR platform rifle....

a little background.....

My Dad is an LEO so I have been shooting with him and in general for a long time now. I own several handguns, including a high end 1911 (not to be my only one).... The 1911 is, by far, my favorite handgun (this may give you a clue to the motive behind one of my questions)....

Recently, I was shooting at a local range with some friends from work and there was an off-duty LEO who had an M4 style AR that was tricked out (railed handguard, vertical fore grip, Eotech holosight, etc) I am sure there were more features but I am new to the black rifle.... To be honest, I did not find out what the manufacturer was but he let us put some rounds down range and I was bitten by the AR bug....

So I have begun to research one for myself.... I have appreciated this forum and have read through the comparision chart which has made my decicion that much more difficult....

One of the questions that I had was about Wilson Combat M4 style rifles.... I love Wilson style 1911s and they are relatively well liked in the 1911 world.... I have read on this and the other main AR forum that they are over priced..... Is that because of the components used are not worth what they charge or is it a pretty good rifle and you are just paying extra for the Wilson name?

Basically, I have narrowed the choice down to 3: RRA, Wilson Combat and Noveske (all from different ends of the spectrum, as I understand).... I know that most of you will say to get the Noveske because it is the best of the 3, and after my short amount of research thus far, I would agree but I have a tendancy to have bad luck when purchasing a firearm so use of the company's customer service is sometime needed. How is the customer service of RRA and Noveske?