PDA

View Full Version : Backup irons mounting question.

jaytee
11-27-17, 11:44
I've currently got a 2-7 Leupold mounted and I'm considering mounting some backup irons. Was looking at the Magpul 525 and 526 offsets. Question is if I'm a lefty, do I mount these on the RH side of the rifle as I'm looking down the barrel? It seems more comfortable that way but since I've never used these before I wasn't sure.

titsonritz
11-27-17, 13:38
Offset sights for a lefty should be on the left side of the weapon. Here is a thread comparing Magpul and Troy offset sight (unfortunately the photo fell victim to the Photobucket BS), it appears the Maguls are not lefty friendly.
https://www.m4carbine.net/showthread.php?168262-Magpul-MBUS-Pro-Offset-vs-Troy-Offset-BattleSights-(brief-comparison)&highlight=OFFSET+buis

GH41
11-27-17, 13:51
Offset sights for a lefty should be on the left side of the weapon. Here is a thread comparing Magpul and Troy offset sight (unfortunately the photo fell victim to the Photobucket BS), it appears the Maguls are not lefty friendly.
https://www.m4carbine.net/showthread.php?168262-Magpul-MBUS-Pro-Offset-vs-Troy-Offset-BattleSights-(brief-comparison)&highlight=OFFSET+buis

I am one who responded to that post and no longer fool with photobucket. I worked around the charging handle issue by mounting the rear sight at the rear of the handguard/rail. Granted it was a 15" rail but it worked fine.

jaytee
11-27-17, 15:09

Well I've watched a few youtube videos and it seems some folks have mounted them on the left side of the rifle and not really had any issues. The only problem I can see is that the anti glare serrations on the rear sight will be facing forwards instead of towards the eye. Mounted on the right side, they fold rearward and mounted on the left they would fold forward which I really cant find any issue with.

bamashooter
11-27-17, 18:26
I had a set mounted on the left side and there were no issues; none. Do it.

Korgs130
11-29-17, 07:43