PDA

View Full Version : Musings on Compact AR's (CQB/Home D/Truck/BoB/etc.)

Diamondback
11-30-17, 16:43
First, please let me note that I'm tossing this in "General" rather than "Pistol" or "NFA" because it touches on both. Also, I'm not trying to present myself as an expert, but as a student I'm trying to distill some things I've picked up from this community into a single piece I'm writing about "General Principles of Compact-AR Building for Non-'Gun People,'" so this is more asking the experts to look over my shoulder and give feedback on what I'm doing right and what wrong. WARNING: WALL O' TEXT AHEAD!

The first question we need to ask is Expected Maximum Engagement Range. If we're looking at a range outside of about 300 yards necessitating magnified optics, fixed front sights become a liability, but for unmagnified use their simplicity as "one less moving part to fight with" becomes an advantage. Whether that fixed sight is a rail-mount on a free-float or a Front Sight Base gas-block is up to user preference, though rail-mount does allow you to place the sight closer to the muzzle using more of the total length for sight-radius.