PDA

View Full Version : Bolt Action 22lr's.

NYH1
12-03-17, 11:58
I'm thinking about getting a bolt action 22lr. I want a traditional heavy barrel rifle for target shooting as well as for limited small game hunting and pest control. I've looked at the Savage Mark II BV (https://www.savagearms.com/firearms/model/MARKIIBV), Marlin XT-22VR (https://www.marlinfirearms.com/rimfire/xt-series/model-xt-22vr) and Ruger American Rimfire Target (http://ruger.com/products/americanRimfireTarget/models.html) so far. I'm not really leaning towards any one of them over the other at this point. Just like to get opinions on them and maybe other similar models.

Thanks, NYH1.

Campbell
12-03-17, 12:25
I would add CZ to your list.

glocktogo
12-03-17, 12:40
I have a Savage Mark II FV-SR and love it. The accuracy is excellent and so is the trigger. The only knock is the factory stock, but I replaced it with a Boyd's. I'd shy away from current production Marlins personally and I have no experience with the Ruger. I'd echo adding the CZ if it's within your budget.

SeriousStudent
12-03-17, 13:18
I have read good things about the Savage 22's.

I own a suppressed CZ 455 Tacticool, and love it. We spent yesterday at the range with it, and had to pry the kids off it with a crowbar.

I got mine from these folks, they get them periodically: http://tooeleshootingsupply.com/

user
12-03-17, 13:29
Another CZ 455 vote here. Really nice rifle. Great shooter. If you haven’t, try and shoot both.

Coal Dragger
12-03-17, 14:51
Add CZ to the list, for the money they’re hard to beat. Beyond a CZ a field grade Anschutz might be worth a look if a deal can be found.

I have a Cooper 57M that has been outstanding, but admittedly is probably more $$$ than most would spend on a rimfire.

NYH1
12-03-17, 16:39
I don't know much about CZ. Have to check them out.