PDA

View Full Version : M&P 2.0 from Glock 17

PLCedeno
12-23-17, 08:56
Just started shooting the M&P 2.0 9mm full size-students were asking for it and i was curious. Great gun in every way one could qualify that. That being said, i have been shooting the Glock 17 (mostly) for 24 years in every Gen including the latest one. I find that with the M&P i am shooting very low and to the left. I know this is not the guns fault. I use the medium backstrap but will be trying the large today. Does anyone regularly transition from the Glock to the M&P and what should be done to accomplish this properly?

Also, will Trijicon HD's be as good a match as they are on my G17?

boombotz401
12-23-17, 09:22
I also am mainly a Glock shooter but prefer the 2.0

I find with the m&p slightly less grip angle I need to give a touch extra time on the follow up shots to not shoot low

After a while i got used to it and they both run great for me

Sent from my iPhone using Tapatalk

26 Inf
12-23-17, 12:18
If you are shooting groups and like the way the pistol feels, I would measure the sights on your pistol and get on the Dawson Precision website, go to 'sight math' and figure out what size front sight you need. https://dawsonprecision.com/sight-calculator/

If you shoot groups with a Glock, and you shoot similar sized groups, except they are low, it makes sense to adjust the sights rather than alter the way you shoot. Especially if you are going to be switching between the S&W and the Glock.

This assumes that you are not making any fundamental errors in grip, SASP or press.

I switched from a Glock 17 to an M&P 2.0 for action pistol. I had essentially the same problem. Thought maybe all of a sudden I'd turned into and even worse shot than I had been. Ended up getting out everything from a 1911 to a Ruger MkI .22 before determining I was not doing anything fundamentally wrong. I finally bought a set of Dawson's so I could use their 'Perfect Impact' guarantee.

MegademiC
12-23-17, 18:05