PDA

View Full Version : Did I just stumble upon a unicorn barrel?

vicious_cb
01-21-18, 01:12
Here are the specs:

16" Cold Hammer Forged Barrel 4150CrMoV HP MP 1:7 5.56 NATO
16.1",
1:7" Twist
5.56 NATO
Medium Taper Profile
4150 CrMoV HF Chrome Lined, Salt Bath Nitride Finish
Muzzle Thread: 1/2"-28 TPI
Gas Port Location: Midlength
Gas Block Size: .750"

https://sonsoflibertygunworks.com/collections/m4-barrels-1/products/16-cold-hammer-forged-barrel-4150crmov-1-7?variant=3083728897

Im curious if it was nitrided then chrome lined or if its nitrided after the chrome lining. If its the former I wonder what gain in barrel life(if any) there is to having a nitrided layer under the chrome. If its the latter I wonder if the nitriding process affected the chrome lining at all, if not then Im all for having the superior outside protection.

This is my first time seeing a barrel like this on the market and why didnt anyone try it sooner?

georgeib
01-21-18, 02:05
I was going to say that there is a typo in the description, but the barrel definitely looks like it has an SBN finish on the outside. I imagine if it really is chrome lined, the chrome lining would have been done after the salt bath. However, that poses its own set of difficulties with manufacturing, so...?

ggammell
01-21-18, 07:25
Reach out to SoLGW. You’ll get an answer pretty quick. They won’t hide anything.

MegademiC
01-21-18, 07:54
CrN is really hard. It could be done either way, but im not sure which would be better, or if there is any advantage at all. The base metal is the same so erosion would not be changed.

Edit: after thinking about it, the extra hardness of nitriding the base metal would likely be better and lead to slightly extended barrel life. That said, i doubt its enough to matter much.

Iraqgunz
01-21-18, 17:18
Sons of Liberty stated that it was a misprint and is not chrome lined and nitrided. The item will be turned off on the website if it hasn't already.

Sry0fcr
01-22-18, 10:01