PDA

View Full Version : Indexing a three-prong flash hider?

Doc Safari
02-14-18, 11:07
I'm waiting for the post office to deliver this AAC Blackout flash hider, three-prong, not for use with a suppressor.

https://www.aimsurplus.com/product.aspx?item=ZX64177&name=AAC+BLACKOUT+FLASH+HIDER+5.56MM+1%2F2-28+NON-SILENCER&groupid=9427

I'm the first to admit I'm not an expert on this stuff, but it seems to me that it should be indexed with one of the slots at top dead center.

Am I correct?

Supposedly the suppressor version does not use a crush washer, but requires Rocksett instead.

This version seems more appropriate with a crush washer?

I confess I looked for installation instructions online and only found instructions for the suppressor version.

What do you think?

markm
02-14-18, 11:12
I installed mine one of two ways. No index, for can use. And centered prong at bottom dead center like an A2. There's no wrong way.

Doc Safari
02-14-18, 11:15
I installed mine one of two ways. No index, for can use. And centered prong at bottom dead center like an A2. There's no wrong way.

I guess my reasoning is that you want a prong on the 6 o'clock position for the same reason the A2 Birdcage flash hider is closed on the bottom. Without really good technical info to the contrary that's how I'll have it installed. If you look at a Valmet M76 flash hider it appears they followed this pattern.

voiceofreason
02-14-18, 11:35
I've always figured a 3 prong flash hider is going to be equal on all sides. I understand the concept that you want the two prongs on top to act as a muzzle brake to counteract muzzle rise... but the amount of force helping one from a flash hider is minimal compared to a true brake.

Have run A2 birdcages no indexed correctly in a pinch, didn't notice a difference in recoil characteristics, but that is not a scientific study, just experience from one day's shooting

26 Inf
02-14-18, 12:53