PDA

View Full Version : Noobie question

USMGoldenEagle
10-19-08, 13:44
This will probably sound like a complete noob question but.....you do have to have both front and rear sights right? I think the entire "B.U.I.S." terminology has me thrown off. "Back Up Iron Sights" doesn't refer to them being in the rear only. Would the front sights be considered "back up" too in case your optics were useless?

Since my gun doesn't have a front sight I definitely want to make sure I get the right parts for my gun. I am assuming that by getting the "flip up" type you can use your optics without conflict with a front sight? Is it a must to have a flip-up sight with any particular type of optics?

I have noticed in a lot of the pics that most of their optics seem to have their fixed front sight in the line of sight of their optic. Is that ideal or not?

LOKNLOD
10-19-08, 14:08
This will probably sound like a complete noob question but.....you do have to have both front and rear sights right? I think the entire "B.U.I.S." terminology has me thrown off. "Back Up Iron Sights" doesn't refer to them being in the rear only. Would the front sights be considered "back up" too in case your optics were useless?

Yes. You need both front and rear sights. For the most common configurations, the standard front sight base/gas block remains as the front sight, and then typically a rear BUIS is added. If you have a configuration with a low profile gas block, and no front sight, you'll need to add a front BUIS of some sort as well. What kind would depend on the current setup.

Since my gun doesn't have a front sight I definitely want to make sure I get the right parts for my gun.

Can you tell us exactly what you have right now? That'll help everyone make accurate recommendations.

I am assuming that by getting the "flip up" type you can use your optics without conflict with a front sight? Is it a must to have a flip-up sight with any particular type of optics?