PDA

View Full Version : Question about registration (I am new to ARs)

Koko
10-23-08, 12:10
Hey,

I've been reading up as much as I can about ARs and have been in love with them forever! I'm ready to buy! But I have a few questions about getting them in California.

Assuming I order a lower, and it's not supposed to come in for a long time, like two months... what happens after it finally does come in? Like is there a 10 day wait period and what sorts of registration do I need to do (if any) besides DROS? Since it's only a long rifle and not an assault rifle I haven't seen any other paperwork for it.

Part of my worry is say Obama gets in, and I get my lower receiver in January, but before he is inaugurated... is the DROS all I need in case of a quick ban? I want an LMT lower but the only dealer ok with shipping to CA is a long wait. But if it might "cost me my AR" because of registration delays I might just get any brand I can (which I really don't want to do).

So once the lower is at my FFL what is the earliest day it could be considered mine (date of sale? DROS? etc.)

Note: Cost is an issue, so it's not really possible for me to get a lower now and wait for the LMT and see what happens... it's basically one or none.

Thanks for the help!

b_saan
10-23-08, 16:29
Here you go... http://www.calguns.net/calgunforum/index.php

sproing
10-24-08, 13:09
I've been reading up as much as I can about ARs and have been in love with them forever! I'm ready to buy! But I have a few questions about getting them in California.

Assuming I order a lower, and it's not supposed to come in for a long time, like two months... what happens after it finally does come in? Like is there a 10 day wait period and what sorts of registration do I need to do (if any) besides DROS? Since it's only a long rifle and not an assault rifle I haven't seen any other paperwork for it.