PDA

View Full Version : Vickers Sling for your camera?

MAP
10-25-08, 15:14
Just found this web site for camera straps. Reminds me of LAV's sling.

http://www.blackrapid.com/video.php?id=1

Mike

Damon
10-25-08, 15:37
That's a good find. It looks very interesting. I use an Optech strap. Another strap that looks good is the Upstrap.

Honu
10-25-08, 22:06
funny :)

when these came out I posted some of the 1 point slings on DWF
they have had some major problems with early hooks failing and cameras falling !!!

I have been a photographer for a while for a living :)

I like optech but usually wrap it around my wrist and only around my neck when changing lens or cards
unless I have two bodies on me

MAP
10-25-08, 22:55
funny :)

when these came out I posted some of the 1 point slings on DWF
they have had some major problems with early hooks failing and cameras falling !!!

I have been a photographer for a while for a living :)

I like optech but usually wrap it around my wrist and only around my neck when changing lens or cards
unless I have two bodies on me

Did they fix this? It looks like a good system.

Mike

Honu
10-26-08, 00:30
yeah they fixed it kinda ?

he issued this
Safety Precaution

To provide an extra measure of security we're now
including a plastic sleeve to prevent the hook gate
from opening accidentally. Please use the plastic sleeve
to insure the safety of your equpitment when using our
revolutionary camera strap.
If you have any questions regarding our plastic sleeve
please contact us at.

kinda weak fix if you ask me
if you look close you can see the tubing in the pics !

but there is a rumor a new clip will be out this month ?
looks kinda weak to hang my $7000 body with $2000 lens on !!!
http://www.blackrapid.com/images/product/connectr.jpg

the problem is the wedding industry has grown in huge leaps and there are a ton of people who bought a camera and now think they are photographers !

think I bought a Stag M4 now I am a soldier !!!