PDA

View Full Version : "Bushmaster Custom Shop"

30 cal slut
10-25-08, 16:03
I guess I've been out of the loop for a while.

I had a chance today to briefly check out some carbines and long guns that were made by the Bushmaster Custom Shop.

I'm no expert at anything, but I noticed a few little things. fit and finish appeared to be quite nice. abundant use of 3rd party furniture, such as Magpul. could have sworn i saw a daniel defense rail on one carbine. bolt carrier key screws were nicely staked ("cross hair" pattern). since i was looking at a carbine with a magpul prs, i wouldn't know if the proper castle nut staking was done. triggers were obviously aftermarket, couldn't tell the brand by sight or feel.

then i came across some long guns ... accurized remington 700's. (remington is owned by cerberus, the private equity company that also owns bushmaster). the proprietor informed that the long guns created by the bushmaster custom shop were made under the supervision of norm chandler (iron brigade armory Norm Chandler). fit an finish appeared to be quite nice, trigger was nice and crisp, and i think there was a surefire muzzle brake (one of the suppressor quick-detach models) on the end of it.

too bad i didn't have my camera, i would have taken some pictures.

the proof is in the shooting, of course, but i have to say i was pretty intrigued by what i saw, for a "bushmaster."

30 cal slut
10-27-08, 09:55
here's one that i saw and handled.

hefty price tag at $3,695 MSRP!

http://www.bushmaster.com/images/BMCS5.jpg

lipstick on a pig? proof is in the shooting, but methinks this is closer to a top-shelf offering, just based on specs and look and feel.