PDA

View Full Version : mental question

HMsailor
07-14-18, 11:40
just curious. if one has ptsd. does question 11F have to answered "yes" on the ATF form 4473?

GTF425
07-14-18, 11:47
Not unless it was a court ruling or you were involuntarily committed to a mental health facility.

tb-av
07-14-18, 11:47
I AM NOT A LAWYER. NOTHING I WRITE HERE IS LEGAL ADVICE

Instructions for 11F

Question 11.f. Adjudicated as a Mental Defective:
A determination by a court, board, commission, or other lawful authority that a person, as a result of marked
subnormal intelligence, or mental illness, incompetency, condition, or disease: (1) is
a danger to himself or to others; or (2) lacks the mental capacity to contract or
manage his own affairs. This term shall include: (1) a finding of insanity by a court
in a criminal case; and (2) those persons found incompetent to stand trial or found not
guilty by reason of lack of mental responsibility.

Do you fit the category of either of the bold definitions? If the answer is "yes", has your condition been determined by a court, board, commission, or other lawful authority that a person, as a result of marked subnormal intelligence, or mental illness, incompetency, condition, or disease:

I'm guessing the answer to the first question is No, but even if it was Yes, the instructions state that some formal authority has to have also made that determination. IOW, a self diagnosis or some average Joe on the street like a nosy neighbor can't be the basis for you marking Yes.

I AM NOT A LAWYER. That is simply how I read the instructions. Those instructions were supposedly written so that you and I could easily and correctly fill out that form to exercise our 2A rights. THIS IS NOT LEGAL ADVICE. YOU MAY GO TO JAIL FOR BELIEVING AND ACTING ON WHAT I JUST WROTE.

I assume you are asking because maybe you are preparing a written test for a class of some sort and want to see how various individuals may answer your question.

SteyrAUG
07-14-18, 17:15