PDA

View Full Version : Remembering 9/11, 17 years later

militarymoron
09-11-18, 07:50
As I drove into work this morning listening to NPR, I remember doing the same thing 17 years ago. Reports were just coming out about the first plane hitting the WTC. As the morning progressed, the second plane hit and the word spread. No one was talking about work. Then we were all sent home where I sat in front of the TV with my wife to watch the day unfold. Two co-workers from my work site never made it home; they were on AA Flt 77. I pass by their memorial every day in the hall when I come into work. The repeating images of the planes hitting the towers and the towers on fire and collapsing are burned into my memory; just like those of the failed Challenger launch in 1986 (I was a sophomore in college). I'll never forget this day.

30 cal slut
09-11-18, 07:52
Have another one, you mother****er.

That's all. Have a nice day.

https://i.imgur.com/AFdGRjs.jpg

Sam
09-11-18, 08:52
https://i.imgur.com/5HkCHzh.jpg

Vegas
09-11-18, 09:25
I remember being up late the night before and ignoring phone calls. Finally my wife woke up and answered the phone in the living room and her screaming for me to wake up and look at the TV. I think I watched cable news channels about 22 hours straight that day trying to make sense of it all. I was living in Fort Lauderdale at that time so the anthrax thing up at Boca Raton wasn't that far away. Definitely different times...

diving dave
09-11-18, 09:49
As has been said many times, never forgive, never forget.

rero360
09-11-18, 11:05
I was at Ft Benning on the rifle range when it all went down. The Drill Sergeants pulled us off the range and we had a Company formation, anyone who was from the NYC and PA were allowed to call home to make sure their families were ok. Within a week the cadences being called changed, no longer was it about killing charlie and commies, but rag heads and camel jockeys.

Sam
09-11-18, 11:10