PDA

View Full Version : Acog TA33R8 vs Aimpoint M4

shad951
10-30-08, 10:28
Hi all......My new Noveske N4 Lite Reece 16" should be in any day. I already have mags, ammo. I have been watching the threads here for a few months in an attempt to decide on which optic to go with. The rifle will be a range gun only. Target shooting/plinking no further out then 150 yds at my range. I typically will shoot 25 yds and out. The 2 scopes on my short list or the Aimpoint M4 and the Trijicon Acog TA33R8. Keep in mind I have no experience with either scope. Last time I shot was an M16A1 in the Corp with iron sites only (longgggggg time ago) So I would appreciate any input pro or con on the 2 optics I am looking at for this weapon.

Thanks,
Dave

jtemple
10-30-08, 10:35
I'm a new AR owner myself, and went with the Aimpoint. Reason being, you can add on an Aimpoint 3x magnifier with a hinged mount, so it pivots out of the way. Then, you get the best of both worlds.

LettersFromEarth
10-30-08, 11:35
Get both;) If there is a chance your weapon may see Home Def use start with the Aimpoint. The M4 is great. Big Green cant get enough of 'em from what I understand. But you could save a few bucks by going with a 2 or 3 series AP insted of the 4 and not lose anything in the ability of your optic.

The TA33 is an ACOG and you cant go wrong with an ACOG. The Marine Corp thinks highly of them (TA31) and right now they're pretty far into getting one to all the Leather Necks (bet you never thought the Corp whould get away from Irons, huh?).

I happen to like the TA33 alot (but I do have more time riding on it than most other ACOGs.). Dont be fooled into thinking your making some sorta huge compromise in going with a 33. With all ACOGs you give up something to gain another. Its up to you to decide what you can live with or cant. Good luck.

P.S. Happy Birthday, Marine! A little premature sure but who cares :D

VooDoo6Actual
10-30-08, 11:42
Aimpoint T-1 w/ Aimpoint 3X