PDA

View Full Version : 9 mm with Ability To Adjust Grip Size?

DWood
11-01-08, 17:59
I am a Glock man, so that's what I know. I'm looking for a pistol for the daughter of a friend. The grips on the Glock 19 are a little too big for her. What is available in a top quality gun, i.e. Springfield, S & W, etc. in 9 mm that has adjustable grip inserts that will accomodate small hands? I'm looking for a striker fired pistol with no manual safety. Not interested in a Kahr or Kel Tec.

The Springfield XD(m) looks interesting but is only available in .40 from what I have read.

Thanks in advance.

Jay Cunningham
11-01-08, 18:00
Sounds like you described the S&W M&P9...

DWood
11-01-08, 18:02
Sounds like you described the S&W M&P9...
Are the grips adjustable or just smaller? I have no experience with them? Thanks Katar.

ToddG
11-01-08, 18:13
The M&P comes with three different size grip straps which change both the width and depth of the gripping area. They're fairly easy to switch back and forth (5-10 seconds).

You could also look at the Walther P99, though many here have voiced a preference for the M&P, myself included.

Unless you're absolutely positively dead set against a hammer fired gun, the H&K P2000 is another worthwhile choice.

John_Wayne777
11-01-08, 18:14
There are three different backstraps included with the M&P's that allow you to adjust the grip. There's a small, medium, and large insert. They are made of polymer so they can be further modified via shadetree engineering if desired.

The M&P is going to be a better fit than the big honkin XD-M's that I've seen. The M&P 9 (full sized) is a bit bigger than a G19. The M&P 9C is actually a bit smaller than the G19.

http://i2.photobucket.com/albums/y16/jwayne_777/IMGP0671.jpg

Right now there is a special edition M&P in 9mm with a pink grip that donates a portion of the proceeds to breast cancer research. It has the breast cancer awareness ribbon engraved on the slide and everything.

DWood
11-01-08, 18:58