PDA

View Full Version : Do I really need to stake my castle nut - Please read all of the OP before answering

frogger
11-02-08, 01:20
Yes, I know that in most cases, you always want to stake the castle nut. I have 2 ARs with the identical stock setup. Both have RRA Commerical Buffer Tubes with a factory RRA end plate and castle nut. Of course, neither came staked. I have broken the loc-tite and added grease to the threads. I've also cranked down the castle nut fairly tight. The reason I think I don't need to stake is that I have installed an MI MCTAR-13 sling adapter over the castle nut and this too is tightened down very tight. I can't see how the castle nut could possibly back off with the sling adapter in place. I have included a pic to help explain what I am describing. The reason I am hesitant to stake it is that I do not have the proper tools to do it and I have never done it before and don't want to screw up my end plate if it is not needed. If it truly is needed, I'd most likely carry them to a gunsmith, but I just can't see how this could back out. Please tell me what you think.

http://i134.photobucket.com/albums/q101/frogger42/Forum%20Stuff/castle-nut.jpg

Oh... and no that is not a crack at the back of the receiver. That was a dog hair. :D

Jay Cunningham
11-02-08, 01:45
https://www.m4carbine.net/showthread.php?t=15684&page=4

Iraqgunz
11-02-08, 01:55
It's called Murphys' Law. It's your weapon, but personally I would do it correctly. All it takes is a staking punch and a hammer. If you consult those here you can easily stake your end plate and nut. Don't worry about the staking not "looking" great. It's about function, unless you weapon is for display purposes.

Parabellum9x19mm
11-02-08, 01:56
http://m4carbine.net/showthread.php?t=18482

SwatDawg15
11-02-08, 01:43
Well looks like ya got your answer :D Stake it man

Robb Jensen
11-02-08, 07:11