PDA

View Full Version : Guide killed by grizzly, carried condition 3

ubet
11-28-18, 18:42
If you need more reason than this to never carry condition 3, I don't know what to tell you. A pistol with an empty chamber is only a hammer, and glocks make a piss poor hammer.

https://www.guns.com/news/2018/11/27/fatal-wyoming-bear-attack-no-round-in-the-chamber-on-handgun

Sent from my SM-N950U using Tapatalk

Travelingchild
11-28-18, 19:11
Happened where I live, Didn't know him personally but interacted with his Blue Sky Restoration Business on occasion.

After this happen, The JH Gun Range had an upsurge in people bringing out large caliber revolvers and such.
Most after a box of 44mag or a cylinder or 2 of 454 casull called it good an thought they were good to go.
As a range officer I suggested they try it from the draw wearing whatever clothing and backpacks they would have on.
Most looked at me like I was from another planet.

AKDoug
11-28-18, 20:25
I have a friend that has built a charging bear target with a realistic closing speed. It's an eye opener to try and clear a chest holster while wearing a backpack when you know he's launched it. Imagine trying that without any warning.

SteyrAUG
11-28-18, 20:54
I'd be willing to be complacency killed him as much as anything. When you've walked past 100 grizzlies without incident you start to think you are somehow special and that the people who get attacked "must have done something wrong."

Not everyone has the mindset that says "Nothing bad has happened for a hundred incidents but TODAY it will probably all go wrong and for no particular reason at all."

People who actively train for bear attacks, like the individual AKDoug mentioned, are few and far between. Most people simply get complacent and over confident in their ability and response time. Even people who hunt and kill grizzlies sometimes assume they will always have control of any situation.

Travelingchild
11-28-18, 21:02