PDA

View Full Version : AR Piston Upper - Not a DI vs. Piston Question

OH58D
12-12-18, 13:56
I have a dozen DI AR's (Colt and LMT) that I have been buying since 1988. I have an extra LMT lower that I would like to put some kind of Piston upper on and try that system out. I have no complaints at all with my DI experience, but I want to at least play around with the piston system which I have not experienced. I don't need anything special with interchangeable barrel or anything extremely high end. I just want a good basic piston upper with 16 inch barrel.

I have looked at the Adams Arms entry level piston upper online, and I have seen some of the POF offerings. For me this would be a learning experience to see how well the piston system works and compare it to what I know and like with my DI weapons.

Any advice would be appreciated.

MistWolf
12-12-18, 14:43
If you want to try a good "piston" upper, get the HK. Probably the best one there is.

georgeib
12-12-18, 15:47
Major, I would like to suggest that you consider an upper by Primary Weapons Systems. They are, as far as I know, the only company that uses a long stroke system for the AR. Uses less moving parts than any of the short stroke systems, made in Idaho by good people with first class customer support, and comes with an adjustable gas system. Much lighter weight than the HK to boot. Probably the most underrated premium AR manufacturer of which I'm aware.

I have no association with PWS beyond being a happy customer.

SomeOtherGuy
12-12-18, 15:53
I've owned two of the Adams Arms midlength piston uppers. In each case I talked myself into buying it on sale. Each one worked fine in 2-3 range trips, each one had different recoil vs. a DI upper, and the second one needed an H2 buffer to be tolerable and was best with an H3 but was marginal in reliability and ejection with an H3. They are functional, and seemed to be made decently. I sold each one of them and obviously decided I didn't need a piston upper.