PDA

View Full Version : Sciencey question

khc3
02-06-19, 19:21
Okay, help settle a minor dispute, if only in my own mind. Bonus points if you are an actual engineer.

Suppose someone tells you that in the process of machining a bore in a part, let’s say a gun barrel, to final dimension, heat is created, causing the material (in this case, steel) to expand.

When the part has cooled, will the bore be larger or smaller than while it was still hot?

I am not an engineer, but I would think the material expands in all directions when heated, and contracts when cooled, making the bore larger.

Sorry if this is a stupid question.

ETA: The machining operation just creates the bore, not the rifling, that is a subsequent operation.

rero360
02-06-19, 19:38
Not an engineer (yet) but I would think that proper cutting operations is not going to generate enough heat that would cause enough thermal expansion to make a difference. 7.2x10^-6 inches for every degree of temperature change for steel

khc3
02-06-19, 19:43
Ok, lets say it is an abrasive cutting (honing) operation that makes the od of the part somewhat hot to the touch. And we are measuring to half a tenth.

jpmuscle
02-06-19, 19:46
If left to cool on its own wouldn’t the change be zero?

Sent from my iPhone using Tapatalk

GH41
02-06-19, 19:51
I once read that many post to Dear Abby were generated by the incarated. Are you incarcerated? Why are you asking the question???

khc3
02-06-19, 20:02
Then again, we shrink fit gears and bearings on shafts by cooling the shaft with liquid nitrogen and heating the otherparts. Guess I am wrong. Seems counterintuitive though.

rero360
02-06-19, 20:04
Ok, lets say it is an abrasive cutting (honing) operation that makes the od of the part somewhat hot to the touch. And we are measuring to half a tenth.

A 150 degree F change will result in a thousandth of an inch, so negligible.

khc3
02-06-19, 20:05