PDA

View Full Version : Recommendations for a DMR/SPR 5.56 rifle

kyjd75
02-11-19, 17:47
hello everyone. I have been a lurker for awhile. I am a former Special Agent, FBI, state prosecutor, and retired trial court judge. I am a firearms enthusiast (primarily a Glock shooter) but do own a couple of Sig 516's, which I like very much. Now I am interested in acquiring a DMR/SPR 5.56 rifle. I have looked at several obvious choices (FN, DD, Centurion Arms, etc.) and am wondering what some of you who have more experience in the rifle arena might suggest. I have a reasonable, but not unlimited, budget. I have an Accupower 1x8 scope on a Geissele mount on one of my 516's which I plan to use on this new rifle if I get one. So, wondering what you would suggest/recommend?

boomer223
02-11-19, 18:58
hello everyone. I have been a lurker for awhile. I am a former Special Agent, FBI, state prosecutor, and retired trial court judge. I am a firearms enthusiast (primarily a Glock shooter) but do own a couple of Sig 516's, which I like very much. Now I am interested in acquiring a DMR/SPR 5.56 rifle. I have looked at several obvious choices (FN, DD, Centurion Arms, etc.) and am wondering what some of you who have more experience in the rifle arena might suggest. I have a reasonable, but not unlimited, budget. I have an Accupower 1x8 scope on a Geissele mount on one of my 516's which I plan to use on this new rifle if I get one. So, wondering what you would suggest/recommend?

KAC makes a nice 18" DMR'ish SR15. Full disclosure - I'm double-fisting the KAC cool-aid, so take that for what it's worth...

https://www.knightarmco.com/4696/shop/commercial-firearms/sr-15-lpr-mod-2

https://www.knightarmco.com/12013/shop/commercial-firearms/sr-15-e3-lpr-mod-2-m-lok

Esq.
02-11-19, 19:14