PDA

View Full Version : Can I use Break-Free Bore Cleaning Foam on my AR

zippygaloo
11-07-08, 02:05
I was planning on trying some Break-Free Bore Cleaning Foam but read somewhere that it shouldn't be used on autoloaders with gas systems.

1. Is this true?
2. Has anyone here used this product on their AR? If so, what are the results?
3. If I should not use it to clean my bore, what should I use?

Parabellum9x19mm
11-07-08, 02:20
where did you read that?

i've never used it before, but i'm sure it will be fine, just keep it away from plastics. honestly it will probably be ok with plastics, but better safe than sorry.

what are you currently using for cleaning?

i just use regular plain old CLP most of the time and it works very well...occasionally i'll use a powder solvent (basically kerosene) or a copper solvent (basically ammonia)...i have used the breakfree Powder Blast before...but its essentially the same as a $2 can of carburetor cleaner.

if i were you, i'd just stick to the regular CLP...but i'm sure the foaming cleaner wont break your AR either

zippygaloo
11-07-08, 02:24
The product info says "Effective, non-toxic, bore cleaner chemically breaks down copper, brass, powder...". Is this the same as a "solvent"? Also, should I only use this Bore Cleaning Foam or a Solvent only every 3 thousand rounds or so with my chrome line barrel?

Parabellum9x19mm
11-07-08, 02:38
yeah, it sounds like its a copper and powder solvent. i'd definitely keep it away from anything plastic just to be sure. if you want to avoid etching, you shouldnt leave a product like that in your bore for extended periods (overnight)

CLP will remove powder fouling...it might not be the fastest, but it will do the job.

as far as copper fouling....it depends on the individual barrel, as well as your personal accuracy standards. there isn't a universal standard for how often one should do this...but if you're only doing it every 3000 rounds, you probably don't need to do it all all.