PDA

View Full Version : Barrel lining - beyond chrome lining

TheFalconeer
04-21-19, 17:02
Gents,

I am looking to go beyond hard chrome for barrel lining; having seen some problems with chrome-lined barrels recently. On dozens of 5.56 barrels, chrome is teared from throat & muzzle after roughly 3000 rounds...pretty disappointing.

So, I am studying the various "new" treatments now existing. Of course, there is nitriding, so widely used today. But is there anyone who tried Co-P-SiC coating ? (US patent US2012/0247962 A1)

I am not a chemist but, from what I understand, it would be a pretty good candidate to replace hard chrome for barrel lining.

opngrnd
04-21-19, 17:33
Are there accuracy or velocity problems with the barrels you are referring to ? I'm just curious, since most people like their chrome lined barrels.

ABNAK
04-21-19, 17:38
I would also have to ask who made the chrome lined barrels the OP mentions?

VIP3R 237
04-21-19, 17:43
LiFe is a new treatment that Parker Trutec is offering, they advertise it as the next generation of ferric nitrocarburizing. I have a cobalt kinetics barrel that is LiFe treated that hopefully I can get some high round counts through.

‘LiFe Process offers in comparison to our traditional nitride, creates a smoother (less porosity) surface finish, this imparts higher corrosion resistance and lubricity characteristics. The hardness and depth are almost identical to the QPQ process. Most firearms manufacturers are reporting a major increase on wear properties also. In my opinion the oxide is also a deeper black with the LiFe process. This process is unique to Parker TruTec MMI and the Tennessee plant we are the only company in the U.S. doing anything like this using nitrocarburizing.’

opngrnd
04-21-19, 17:44