PDA

View Full Version : Is the Glock 19 still king of the hill?

rebelram
08-12-19, 22:17
I have recommended the Glock 19 to many friends and family over the years if they were looking at buying a glock. Since Glock has released several new models in the past couple years, have any of them knocked the 19 off it's pedestal? Both the 19X/G45 and 48 seem to be doing really well. And for smaller form factor it's hard to go wrong with the G43 or 43X. Personally I think the 45 shoots a lot better than the 19, but I'm by no means an expert on the subject. I plan to continue recommending the 19 to new shooters, but I think I am also going encourage them to shoot the other new Glock models and see for themselves which model they like best.

Wake27
08-12-19, 22:28
All of them have their own pros and cons, but the Glock 19 is still the best one-size-fits-all option.

Sent from my iPhone using Tapatalk

matemike
08-12-19, 22:28
Don't the 19x and 19mos have their own magazines as well as aftermarket sights that fit? Also, doesn't the 19x and others need their own kydex holster; i.e. a gen 3 or 4 holster won't fit if going the kydex route?
I still like the gen 3 and 4 19's for their simplicity. The new age 19's, while maybe not just a fad, serve their owners specifically for their purpose. The plain G19 serves a gun owner, new or experienced, as being a good gun. period. Don't hesitate to recommend it.

Ron3
08-12-19, 23:19
If a person wanted a Glock to carry but would never carry it in anything but a pocket I'd recommend a Glock 42.

If they did plan to carry on a belt I'd say G48. (I've only held one, not fired one)

If they thought it was too thin, or wanted more rounds, or more weight, then I'd suggest the G19 with no front cut out.

lsllc
08-13-19, 05:23