PDA

View Full Version : Why do Barrels lose girth about 12'" down?

Kramerica
11-13-08, 20:20
I'm a newb, so if it's obvious to most...forgive me. I notice on lite barrels, they lose girth for about an inch, 12 inches down the barrel, then they get thicker til the end of the barrel. Is this to allow for a mid-length gas block? Also are you able to transform a carbine to a mid-length just by relocating the gas block?

SuicideHz
11-13-08, 20:43
Lots of different barrels, lots of different profiles.

We'd need a picture of which "light" barrel you are talking about.

OH! I think I know what you are talking about now- you are looking at an M4 profile barrel I'd bet. Is this "skinny" part a few inches in front of the front sight tower?

http://us.st11.yimg.com/us.st.yimg.com/I/yhst-57056280658346_1900_247331

If that is the barrel you are talking about, it's stepped down to accept the clamp on the front end of an M203 grenade launcher and nothing more. It's not a "lightweight" barrel either. That is a standard or common profile, "government" I believe.

There are heavy Colt SOCOM M4 barrels where the portion between the receiver and the front sight is an even thickness and doesn't step down in front of the barrel nut and then back up just before the front sight base.

Since we've now explained that notch up front, it's NOT for a midlength gas block.

Barrels have a tiny hole in them under their front sight base to carry gas into the sight tower and then back down the gas tube.

They can only have one to function correctly ;)

That barrel I showed you (as 99.99% of any M4 profiled barrel) will use a carbine length gas system whether they are 14.5" or 16" (common civilian legal length.)

A carbine length gas system places the rear of the FSB (front sight base) almost exactly 7" from the front face of the upper receiver. These barrels/gas systems use "carbine" length handguards or rails. DD7.0, LaRue 7.0, etc. rails are for the carbine length system.