PDA

View Full Version : AR designations

reloadem
11-15-08, 08:32
I am new to AR's, and have been looking for descriptions to the terminology, can't find it yet.

What is an A1, A2, A3, A4?

SSGN_Doc
11-15-08, 09:14
A1- refers to a fixed carry handle type that has a windage adjustable rear sight with no elevation adjustment. The A1 also features a forward assist. No brass deflector. Barrel rifling had a 1:12 inch twist.
There is a C7 upper that is eseentialy the same with an added brass deflector and is in use by the Canadian armed forces.

A2- Incorporated a new rear sight that was elevation adjustable, as well as windage adjustable. They also added a brass deflector. The forward assist knob was changed from a tear drop shape to a round shape. New rifling twist rate was changed to a 1:7 to accomodate heavier/longer projectiles found in the 62 grain rounds and to stabilize the new tracer ammunition to go along with it.

A3 is pretty much an A2 with a removeable carry handle.

M4 was a change to a carbine with removeable carry handle, feed ramps cut into the reciever for more reliable full auto/ burst feeding. Barrel length was reduced to 14.5" with cuts to accomodate the mounting of a grenade launcher.

There are other finer points, and I may be a bit sketchy on A3, but that's the basics. Others will be along to give more detail, and correct my mistakes.:D

flyboy1788
11-15-08, 10:34
A1- refers to a fixed carry handle type that has a windage adjustable rear sight with no elevation adjustment. The A1 also features a forward assist. No brass deflector. Barrel rifling had a 1:12 inch twist.
There is a C7 upper that is eseentialy the same with an added brass deflector and is in use by the Canadian armed forces.