PDA

View Full Version : Ian McCollum on the lack of Jewish resistance during WWII

jsbhike
09-24-19, 19:11
Definitely not a mainstream take on what happened.

https://youtu.be/alygC4r3rjw

09-24-19, 19:54
Wrong. As a tribe member have to speak up, His research is precursory. The number of Jews involved in active fighting, as in partisan, was approximately 65,000 with the exact number thought to be higher but the fluidity, especially on the Eastern Front, makes the exact number impossible to determine.

Way too complex to get into on a forum.

OH58D
09-24-19, 20:04
While I was a student at the University of Arizona (1978-1982), I had as neighbors an elderly couple who were German-Jews. They had both been in Auschwitz but did not meet until after the war. I had met them while I had a part-time job helping out with a Rosh Hashanah radio broadcast at the nearby Temple Emanu-El.

This little couple were in their 80's when I knew them and both still had their Auschwitz numbers tattooed on their forearms. We spent a lot of time talking about their lives, and that of my new father-in-law who was in the D-Day invasion at Omaha Beach. This elderly Jewish man was a Violinist with the Berlin Philharmonic when Hitler came to power, and his future wife was a Professor of Philosophy at Humbolt University in Berlin. Both were highly educated and in the upper part of German society prior to Hitler.

In my conversations with them, I got the impression they never thought the round-up of Jews would encompass the whole of society, and they were in a kind in denial that it would happen to them. They were productive citizens contributing to the betterment of German society, and it was beyond their ability to comprehend the totality of the evil that happened so fast.

I kept in touch with both until their deaths in the early 1990's. My life was better in knowing them and their story.

Firefly
09-24-19, 20:21