PDA

View Full Version : Rogers Pistol/Carbine Review

John Hearne
11-16-08, 09:41
Rogers Shooting School Review
Intermediate/Advanced Handgun and Short Range Carbine

I just returned from the Rogers Shooting School in Ellijay, GA. I completed their Intermediate/Advanced Handgun Program as well as their Short Range Carbine course. For those that don’t like detail, the class was an excellent value and I learned a lot. I highly recommend the Rogers program for shooters wanting to increase their shooting speed and accuracy.

My Background
So you’ll know where I’m coming from, I’ve been a Federal law enforcement officer since 1991. I’ve attended two basic academies as well other government training over the years. I serve as a firearms instructor for my agency and also teach firearms in the private sector for Tom Givens of Rangemaster in Memphis, TN.

I’ve been seriously studying the combative use of firearms since 1999 when I took my first private sector training class. Since then, I’ve been hooked on the value of private sector courses. I’ve taken training from Gunsite (250C, 223), Thunder Ranch (Handgun 1, 2, & 3, Urban Rifle 1 & 2), and Front Sight (Four-Day Defensive Handgun, Two-Day Tactical Handgun). I’ve also taken courses from the notable traveling trainers including Pat Rogers (3-Day Carbine Operators Course), Larry Vickers (Handgun 1), Louis Awerbuck (Tactical Carbine), Jeff Gonzales (Combative Pistol), Scottie Reitz (SWAT Combat Course), Randy Cain (Tactical Handgun 101), and Chuck Taylor (Advanced Tactical Handgun).

I’ve also completed the Firearms Instructor Program at the Federal Law Enforcement Training Center (FLETC), the FBI’s Police Firearms Instructor Program, and the NRA’s LE Tactical Shooting program. I’ve shot competitively and have won a few local 3-gun and IDPA matches and have been recognized as a top practitioner at the NTI.

Early Warnings