PDA

View Full Version : Some FTF's at the trip to the range.

idreamt...
11-18-08, 14:26
I have picked up a used Bushmaster 24". It seemed to be in good shape, although I am new at this, but the gun would not load with a full mag. The round would get jammed in the feed ramp whether I hit the bolt release or charging handle. It did this 3 to 4 times per mag, then loaded and had no cycling problems and fired fine.

My assumption is the buffer/buffer spring is worn and could use a new one?

M4arc
11-18-08, 14:37
We need more info; what mags and ammo where you using?

idreamt...
11-18-08, 15:20
Brand new CProducts 30rd with magpul follower.
PMC Bronze .223 55gr fmj-bt.

Failure2Stop
11-18-08, 18:56
Brand new CProducts 30rd with magpul follower.

A shiny new penny says this is probably the issue.

Parabellum9x19mm
11-18-08, 18:59
. It seemed to be in good shape, although I am new at this, but the gun would not load with a full mag.

load no more than 28 rounds in a USGI mag. i like 27.

get some PMags when you can.

idreamt...
11-18-08, 19:35
So it's the mag. Good to know.
Thanks.

Tipsovr
11-18-08, 20:24
load no more than 28 rounds in a USGI mag. i like 27.

get some PMags when you can.

Just curious, why do you say this? Should this be the norm with USGI mags? If so I'm dumping all mine and switching to Pmags...

SpartanArms
11-18-08, 20:48
Tipsovr,

No this is not the norm with USGI mags. However some people have experienced more than their fair share of difficulties with CProducts mags. I personally have several aluminum C-Products mags which have worked well, but others have had some issues with them not not performing well. Also, there seem to have been a lot of people who had problems with the C-Products steel magazines.