PDA

View Full Version : BCM 11.5 vs Triarcs 12.5

SHERWINVILLARETE
01-09-20, 21:53
I'm torn between the BCM 11.5 and the Triarcs 12.5 uppers. I have no experience with both. I only have a BCM 14.5 and a couple of 16s. Does anybody know if one shoots softer than the other? Is the TRACK barrel by Triarc longer lasting compared to BCM? I'm looking for a workhorse upper.

BCM 11.5 - very light rail with a superior design (IMO)
Triarc 12.5 - mid length gas (might shoot softer and have better parts wear?)

Renegade0100
01-09-20, 23:28
FWIW, my 12.5" carbine BCM is jumpier and more violent than my 14.5" carbine Colt 6920.

Renegade0100
01-09-20, 23:33
Also, here's a review on a Triarc 12.5": https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=UaQAkVbPKbI

Magsz
01-10-20, 00:10
The Triarc is going to shoot softer than the BCM.

The BCM rail is not superior to the Wedgelock rail.

Firing schedule will determine which barrel lasts longer. For the average shooter, both barrels will last a life time.

Both barrels are proven and both barrels are going to serve you well. If you want a slightly softer shooting rifle, go with the Triarc.

If you want a wider operational window, go with the BCM.

Triarc has done their homework and their barrels work but any time you start pushing performance envelopes, your reliability window closes. I cannot quantify by how much but this is a fact.

Dennis
01-10-20, 00:17
FWIW, my 12.5" carbine BCM is jumpier and more violent than my 14.5" carbine Colt 6920.I had the same experience so I put an A5H3 on it and it is markedly less jumpy now and could even be described as smooth.

I set mine up with as many basic, non-moving, reliable parts as possible. It was hard not putting a SDC trigger in but it did get a milspecish ACT.

Dennis.

https://uploads.tapatalk-cdn.com/20200110/f89153b888024c6e93d93fbbd551024f.jpg

Wake27
01-10-20, 00:24
FWIW, my 12.5" carbine BCM is jumpier and more violent than my 14.5" carbine Colt 6920.

Well, yeah.