PDA

View Full Version : Gouges in fired casings. OK?

mattal21
11-19-08, 12:59
Sorry im new to AR'S and noticed these gouges on all of the fired casings that i picked up and was wondering if it was ok

http://i435.photobucket.com/albums/qq74/mattal21/DSCF0519.jpg

markm
11-19-08, 13:22
Tag to see pics later. (the images are blocked where I am now)

bkb0000
11-19-08, 13:36
you must be running one of those new Sooper Ultra Turbo 5000s... 20" barrel with a carbine length system, running suppressed on full auto with a non-h buffer and hot loads, right? that's my favorite hunting setup.

Highway 55
11-19-08, 21:10
What brand rifle do you have? I have a S&W M&P15A that makes similar marks, except further down on the case.

skyugo
11-19-08, 22:17
probably hitting the feed ramps on the way in. i get a little of this as well.

bkb0000
11-19-08, 22:40
probably hitting the feed ramps on the way in. i get a little of this as well.

must be some deep ass feedramps.

mattal21- you got calipers? take a measurement of the gouges, low point to low point.. then measure your lugs, then measure your feedramps.

i was thinking it was extracting super hard, biting the lugs in the barrel extension on the way out.

M1A2_Tanker
11-19-08, 22:56
My S&W M&P15T does the same exact marks but mine were alot deeper, when I sent it back to smith for the pinned gas block/short stroking issues, I mentioned this and also sent a handfull a spent cases. When the gun came back to me the feed ramps were polished. I have only fired a few hundred rounds of wolf since then and havent seen them in the steel cases. However there was no mention on the service order receipt about anything other than the gasblock being replaced. So who know's?

ETA: here's a photo, im no stickman! I had a hard time with the lighting. The two on the ends look like the ones posted above, the center two are longer but not as deep.

http://i385.photobucket.com/albums/oo300/M1A2_Tanker/P1010129.jpg