PDA

View Full Version : Best = Most Reliable CCW 1911

heijutsu
11-21-08, 14:44
I am in the market for a CCW and am thinking about going with a 1911 in a Commander size frame. I have been looking so far at the Springfield Champion Operator or the Kimber Pro Covert II. Anyone have any experience with either or know of a good reliable CCW 1911?

theJanitor
11-21-08, 14:48
are those full size frames? if so, then get a 5" 1911. they'll run better and won't diminish their concealability by much, if any.

BigDog
11-21-08, 16:38
Not a Covert, but I have a Kimber Pro Carry II that's one of the most reliable and accurate pistolas I own.

NoBody
11-21-08, 16:50
Deleted.

toddackerman
11-21-08, 19:12
I have a Colt Combat Commander that has 20,000 rounds through it with no weapon related malfs. I have had a few problems with questionable mags (beat up range mags with cracks etc.), but my Tripp Cobra carry mags run 100%.

Northerntier1
11-22-08, 02:11
I have a Springfield Armory GI Champ with the four inch barrel. Runs a bull barrel like the operator. When I run Wilson Combat magazines the guns runs 100% to the point of boring reliability. I say go with the Springfield Armory. When I have called their customer service to check if a order had shipped they were very nice and helpful.

Abraxas
11-22-08, 07:06
As long as I don't use the 10rnd mags(which you wouldn't for carry) ant stick to my 7 or 8 rounders my Kimber Tac Pro has been super reliable. Now it is not the absolute best 1911in the world, but it has done well by me.

bgoode
11-22-08, 08:05
I chose a Baer TRS for my fall/winter CCW. I carry 7 round Wilsons. In the summer I carry a PRE SERIES II Kimber 4" slide on an officer grip. Its been 100% so far with about 500 rounds through it. My next officer gripped gun will be a Baer Stinger if I can scrape up the cash next year.

jaydoc1
11-22-08, 09:26