PDA

View Full Version : Finally Earned My Shirt @ The Tactical Games

Leaveammoforme
03-17-20, 13:55
2021 update below original post.

Been debating as to post this or not. I figured someone may find it helpful to prepare if they are interested.

Pride took a hit but I'll learn from it. I actually teared up as we drove off. I said "I can't quit" and went to turn around. My wife was a voice of reason and I will be better prepared for next year.

To say I underestimated this match would be fair. I had been jogging with 25 lbs for 4 months. I added reps to all my normal jazz. Not near enough. I should have been jogging at 100 lbs over to feel lighter at the match.

I survived stage one but timed out. I couldn't get my feet to cooperate on a rope climb about a third of the way through Stage 2. Decided to muscle my way up and stalled out about 6 inches from the top.

The staff and RO's were awesome. They offered me a move from "Elite" to an "Intermediate" slot but I was done.

50% overweight cardio would be a good place to train for this monster. Much respect for the guys who finished. I'll come back better prepared.

Well, ask away or offer advice.

Update, March 2021

Got that shirt.

We had 7 stages spread over two days. The "Masters" division was changed from 45+ years old to a 40-49 group and a 50+ group. I was in the 40-49 group. We had the same COF and work load as the "Intermediate" division. There were some instances where Intermediate was allowed to use props as firing support but Masters had to fire offhand.

My ultimate goal for this match was to get a finish. My year worth of work was quickly evident to myself as we got going. I admittedly sand bagged all stages except the very last to try and avoid injury. The last stage was brutal. It was the only stage that had something like a 80% timeout (myself included and my only timeout). I completed about 75% of the stage before running out of time which seemed to be where most people ended.