PDA

View Full Version : Need help choosing progressive press

CrowCommand
03-19-20, 08:01
I've been loading for 5 years or so now, on a turret press and single stage. Calibers include 9mm, .45ACP, .223, and .308. I'm looking into getting a progressive, specifically a Dillon.

Money is tight, so I don't need all the bells and whistles to start. I'd like a press that can crank out pistol rounds primarily, but have the option to load rifle as well. I'm pretty sure this rules out the Square Deal B...Dillon's site doesn't seem to list a 650 any more, is the 550 the one for me? I'm not opposed to buying used if the price is right....

T2C
03-19-20, 08:12
I have a RL550B. I don't like to use it to resize and decap rifle brass, because I wind up with case lube in the primer feeder. A gummed up primer feeder makes it difficult to reload pistol ammunition. I loaded a lot of good .223 ammunition with brass that was already prepped before I reloaded it on the press.

I bought a RCBS Rock Chucker press for reloading rifle ammunition. If I wanted to I guess I could resize and decap brass on the Rock Chucker, then finish the loading process on the RL500B, but I don't. I drop and weigh charges, then seat rifle bullets on the Rock Chucker after I prep the brass.

I owned a Square Deal B press before I bought the RL550B and it worked well enough for me to reload a lot of pistol ammunition. If I had to do it all over again, I would have bought a Square Deal B, a Rock Chucker and a good powder drop system.

223to45
03-19-20, 09:24
Well the 550 is out, is not a progressive press.

Sent from my SM-G930V using Tapatalk

fedupflyer
03-19-20, 11:06
The 750 is the updated 650.

If you can afford it, I would get the 1100 (which is the updated 1050).
I bought the 650 and was in the same quandary. In retrospect, I should have gotten the 1050 and I will probably upgrade in the near future.

If you are only doing one pistol caliber the 650/750 is fine.