PDA

View Full Version : Recommendation for 300 blackout muzzle device

Austin26
05-08-20, 07:35
Hello, I don't know if this is the right forum but I'm looking for advice for my rifle. My priorities are to keep the muzzle on target (compensator). Yes, less felt recoil and flash hiding would be nice but I'd rather have more rounds on target. What is everyone's thoughts on this, budget isn't really an issue though I rarely find the most expensive thing to truly be the best quality or best fit. Thanks in advance.

The 300 blackout barrel is 16" and I'll be shooting only 110-125g supersonic rounds if that matters.

I'm new to the 300 blackout cartridge. My VG6 Gamma I have isn't impressing me but like I said, I've never fired this round before.

CMV
05-08-20, 08:16
#1 is you're missing a huge benefit of this round not shooting subsonic loads suppressed. That is the appeal of 300BLK (to me anyway) - you have a round hitting at 100yds with same energy as a .45ACP at the muzzle and it's Hollywood quiet. Then you have the capability to get just about 7.62x39 performance, but to me that is secondary.

For just a brake, the old school AR-10/308 style work well. Just the slots in side & holes in top - very basic. But they're good in that application. Something similar to this JP https://www.brownells.com/rifle-parts/muzzle-devices/compensators-amp-muzzle-brakes/ar-308-tactical-compensator-1x2-75-925-30-cal-prod86875.aspx?avs%7cManufacturer_1=j+p+enterprises - there are many variations of this design

Biggy
05-08-20, 08:43
Costly, but IMHO, maybe the best
*all around* muzzle device that has great muzzle compensation.

Austin26
05-08-20, 10:07
I appreciate the response CMV, though I just am not concerned with suppressed subsonic. I wanted a platform I'm very familiar with (AR) while being able to shoot similar to an AK. I got the long barrel for the extra velocity, for instance.