PDA

View Full Version : Steiner PX4i

Walker_Texasranger
06-22-20, 23:04
These seem to be in low stock right now. DSG Arms seems to be the only place that I see that has them. Are they legit? Price is high from them.

Optics Planet says they are in stock but not sure if I trust that.

nightchief
06-23-20, 00:41
These seem to be in low stock right now. DSG Arms seems to be the only place that I see that has them. Are they legit? Price is high from them.

Optics Planet says they are in stock but not sure if I trust that.

It is a decent 1x4 optic if the cost is under $500. Pretty forgiving eyebox, dot is daylight bright, not real heavy (about 17 oz less the mount) and seems pretty rugged. I've been running one for two years now, primarily on a 12.5" carbine. I've shot the 12.5 with this optic out to 400 yards (prone) on a C zone steel target with no issue.

It has two less than optimum issues IMO. First, the BDC reticle is rather basic, though you can figure out holds for each sub-tension. Second, the illumination control knob has an annoying habit of moving when doing anything active, such as running. I've had numerous times where I bring the rifle up to find the dot is off and I have to use the cross hairs only.

ggammell
06-23-20, 05:58
I bought both of mine from DSG. They became very popular about 2 years ago so the price went way up. I like mine. I upgraded one to a razor this year because I frequently see 475 yards at local matches and wanted just a little more magnification. The BDC comment is pretty relevant but I’ve never run into the illumination knob moving on its own.

Walker_Texasranger
06-23-20, 14:50
I bought both of mine from DSG. They became very popular about 2 years ago so the price went way up. I like mine. I upgraded one to a razor this year because I frequently see 475 yards at local matches and wanted just a little more magnification. The BDC comment is pretty relevant but I’ve never run into the illumination knob moving on its own.