PDA

View Full Version : Buffer bumper material

Disciple
08-04-20, 11:54
From a most interesting but very long thread I do not wish to lengthen further with ancillary digression:

Possibly, but probably not.

People don't know a good portion of the forward velocity comes from the buffer tip rebounding off the end of the RE.

The action spring can't really deliver much energy during the 1/4" of over travel, but the buffer tip returns some % of the rearward velocity nearly instantly.

Assuming this rebound is undesirable, as I understand it to be, is there no material with greater hysteresis that is sufficiently rigid and durable? Polymer science has likely improved since the original material was specified.

markm
08-04-20, 13:07
I'm no engineer, but it strikes me that you're searching for a problem with the buffer system that doesn't seem to exist. I mean... in my years of running this platform, I've found the WAY bigger problem is incompetence from those who've set specs for gas ports.

"We" shot the AR for decades with over gassed ports that lead to all kinds of functionality issues and false hysteria on the system's reliability; and also all kinds of ridiculous aftermarket gizmos (pig tail gas tube, for example) to treat the symptoms of these over gassed nightmares.

I'm not trying to be argumentative, but it seems that the buffer system in place is just fine.

Clint
08-04-20, 13:15
It's not necessarily undesirable.

It just means the closing velocity during the normal cycle is higher than the closing velocity of the first round chambered when using the bolt catch or charging handle.

BTW, one of the other things that pesky little A5 biasing spring does is reduce the rebound energy.

From a most interesting but very long thread I do not wish to lengthen further with ancillary digression: