PDA

View Full Version : Lpvo on an Sbr is 1-4 optional?

Twilk73
08-10-20, 22:06
I have an 11.3" sbr that I run suppressed I just started shooting it at the range and I want to try something with magnification. I can hit steel at 100 yards with a red dot but I feel the strain on my eyes focusing that far out lol. My guess is my maxim effective range is around 200 yards with the sbr in an SD situation. So in my head 1-4 lpvo is more than enough. It would be the equivalent of taking a 50 yard shot on 1x as taking a 200 yard shoot on 4x? Never shot magnification correct me if I'm wrong. I do understand bullet drop and trijectory though.

Is there disadvantaged to getting something that is 1-6 or 1-8? If I had to guess the only disadvantage are weight and eye relief? But I'm really new to lpvo's so that's why I'm asking.

Is the nightforce 1-4 a, good choice? Looking at it because it's light and small. What are some other great options in or around that size? I am going to pick up the leupold 1.5-4 lpvo for a 22 my kids shot so I'll get to work with something before I dive in.

Thanks for the help.

Disciple
08-10-20, 22:39
It would be the equivalent of taking a 50 yard shot on 1x as taking a 200 yard shoot on 4x? Never shot magnification correct me if I'm wrong.

Only if you have lenses with perfect clarity and correction, no atmospheric distortion (mirage), and no haze. In reality it's never quite that good.

sidewaysil80
08-10-20, 22:47