PDA

View Full Version : ACOG TA-11E

mmike87
11-28-08, 19:02
I have an ACOG TA-11E (.308 BDC) on an FAL currently.

I've never used an ACOG on an M4gery before, and would like to give it a whirl. I had read somewhere that the .308 BDC was "close enough" for some 5.56 loads.

If anyone can point me in the direction of that info, I'd appreciate it. I may just not worry about it since where I shoot I can't go out very far, anyway so no BDC is really necessary. If I like it on the the 5.56 rifle, I can't afford another ACOG for quite some time.

Thanks.

Damascus
12-03-08, 11:03
You shouldn't worry about those BDC lines anyways, because their never spot on perfect... what I do (if you have a large enough range) is set up targets at 100m, 150, 200, etc.. all the way out as far as you can, then zero the scope (depending on the scope, I zero my TA01NSN at 100m), then start shooting at the further targets, in 50m intervals (or 25 if you really wanna get it right), and take note of how much the bullet drops, then just memorize it... for example, with my load, if I am shooting at a target 300m away, I know to aim a tad low, because for my load, my 300m mark actually is dead on at 340m... So, I just have to memorize, rather than 300 - 400 - 500 - 600 etc, I use 350 - 450 - 525, etc, rounded off to the nearest 25 or 50m...
Everyone has their own rituals and methods, but this is what works for me. My ACOG is set up for a 14.5" M4 shooting 62gr. M855 - but I am using a 16" shooting 69gr. BTHPs, so after 200m, it shoots a lot flatter than what it's set up for, so I "re-memorized" the distances for those lines.
It sounds very time consuming, but it only took me about 4 hours and 75 rounds to do this perfectly.

mmike87
12-08-08, 19:15