PDA

View Full Version : Leupold Mark 6 1-6 or NF nx8 1-8?

Twilk73
08-20-20, 23:15
I don't need 8x this is an 11.3" sbr. I'm torn between these two optics. Most important thing is eye box/1x style feeling and daylight bright red dot. Right now I'm leaning towards the nightforce but I feel like the mark 6 is the better option for my needs. Anyone have experience with both or similar please chime in. I'm new to lpvo's but I've been reading a lot. So hot me with it?.

Zane1844
08-21-20, 02:13
I had both. I liked the MK6 better, mainly due to the reticle and the glass looked nicer.

For an SBR I'd look at the Razor or Khales though, since 1x will be the most important function.

WS6
08-21-20, 02:48
I don't need 8x this is an 11.3" sbr. I'm torn between these two optics. Most important thing is eye box/1x style feeling and daylight bright red dot. Right now I'm leaning towards the nightforce but I feel like the mark 6 is the better option for my needs. Anyone have experience with both or similar please chime in. I'm new to lpvo's but I've been reading a lot. So hot me with it?.

I have owned both. I prefer the NX8. The downside is that the NX8 has a slightly smaller eyebox coupled with a larger "occular ring" occluded area. The upside is that t he NX8 has no "flickering illumination" issues and the reticle is very usable without battery, even.

The NX8 is cheaper, smaller, and at LEAST as tough.

I sold my MK6, have an NX8, and am not looking for another MK6.

*MK6 glass is better, as noted, but it's not night and day. More like 2020 Camaro vs. Mustang instead of 2001 Camaro vs Mustang, lol!

maximus83
08-21-20, 10:51
I'd skip both of those and get either a Vortex Razor Gen 2e 1-6, or the Gen 3 1-10x.

Both are decent optics, but both have their issues and IMO the Razors are better all-around choices for the $$.

Twilk73
08-21-20, 10:54
I'd skip both of those and get either a Vortex Razor Gen 2e 1-6, or the Gen 3 1-10x.