PDA

View Full Version : Good plan or nah?

MWAG19919
08-25-20, 12:34
I’m currently quite squared away with my home defense “pistol”, but I have two rifles that are in desperate need of quality optics and lights. The first is my BCM 16” ELW middy with the original KMR, and the second is a Colt 14.5 SOCOM that I FSB chopped and installed a C4 MLOK rail. Considering what Colts are going for these days, I’m debating selling the 14.5 and putting that money into good glass for the BCM. Of the two I prefer the midlength, and it’s capable of pretty good accuracy when I do my part.

I’m a nursing student, so if I want something new I have to sell something I already have. Currently I have a cheap Bushnell 1-4x in a Bobro mount. That’s my only optic between the two rifles. My thinking is that it’s better to have one solid carbine with good glass than to have two with a crappy LPVO. Thoughts?

grizzlyblake
08-25-20, 12:42
Look at how difficult it would be to replace a quality rifle today with everything backordered or unavailable. I would not sell either of your rifles if possible.

You could sell the Bobro mount and Bushnell scope separately and come up with probably $250-300.

If your budget is that tight I'd put an Aimpoint LCO/PRO on the BCM with those funds, and save up for another one or sell some non gun stuff to get the funds together. I'd rather have the cheapest Aimpoint over a budget LPVO, and ultimately I'd rather have redundancy over one super hot shot rifle.

A lot depends on what your home defense "pistol" is and how it's set up. Mind sharing?

MWAG19919
08-25-20, 13:13
Look at how difficult it would be to replace a quality rifle today with everything backordered or unavailable. I would not sell either of your rifles if possible.

You could sell the Bobro mount and Bushnell scope separately and come up with probably $250-300.