PDA

View Full Version : SBR

Voodoochild
11-10-06, 20:55
So if you had to choose between a 12.5 or a 14.5 inch what would you choose and why? I am looking at either a Noveske 12.5 Crusader or a 14.5 Afghan. I know one is a Middy and one is a Carbine gas system. But what are the advantages/disadvantages of each? And what contour would you choose and why?

I currently have a 16" RRA Entry Tac and it is a heavy bugger but has never failed to go boom (except for Wolf ammo). I appreciate the info you all can provide.

miserai
11-10-06, 21:24
im not an expert on SBRs. but they way i think of it is, if your gonna pay a $200 tax then go with something thats worth it. id go with the 12.5". to me an inch and a half isn't worth the tax and paperwork when you could just go with a permanently attached break or flash hider.

thats just my $0.02

Kyrinn
11-10-06, 23:07
Agreed.
The point of an SBR (in my mind) is its compactness.

Aubrey
11-11-06, 15:35
[QUOTE=Voodoochild]So if you had to choose between a 12.5 or a 14.5 inch what would you choose and why? I am looking at either a Noveske 12.5 Crusader or a 14.5 Afghan. I know one is a Middy and one is a Carbine gas system. But what are the advantages/disadvantages of each? And what contour would you choose and why?...QUOTE]

It depends upon your needs which would be the better choice.

Obviously the 12.5" barrel allows for a more compact weapon that is easier to maneuver in close quarters (in structures and vehicles). If ranges are short, then the reduced velocity of the shorter barrel is less of a concern.

If ranges will potentially be longer, the higher muzzle velocity of the longer barrels will improve the terminal ballistics (greater likelihood of fragmentation/expansion of the bullet) while being slightly less "handy."

Robb Jensen
11-18-06, 07:07