PDA

View Full Version : Thermal Sight Recommendations ....

63Qcode
08-31-20, 09:08
Guys , last trip to my place in the Foothills , had an almost close encounter with some coyotes at 4:00 am . We were sound asleep when they sounded like they made a kill about 50 yards off the back deck and started calling everyone in for a late night snack . Dog went nuts ( inside thankfully ) and it brought me straight up from the bed . Tried to find them , but not enough light to see anything and they vanished when I hit the floodlights . In that rural area , the rule for coyotes is shoot on sight .... problem is I have to see them .
So I started looking at thermal night sights for my AR . I always used RD or LPVO on my AR`s , but am a total novice on night vision scopes . From what I have found , I think in the $2000 range would get a decent unit that would allow me to make shots up to the 200 yard range ??
So , if anyone has any recommendations based on your experience , I would appreciate it .

Two part post ..... I found an old Tasco 3 - 7x20 way back in my safe that I bought for my Winchester Mdl 69A when I was a teenage . That rifle is a tack driver ( 22LR ) and has a really good trigger . So , I think it`s time the Tasco was relegated to the safe again ...... any recommendations on a scope for a mdl 69A ? Rifle already has the grooves machined in it for a scope mount . Should make a good squirrel gun .

Thanks

monkeywrench
08-31-20, 12:40
I work with thermal cameras every day. I was taking to the vendor and asked about the flir breach for coyotes. He recommended just use night vision with a ir laser.

B Cart
08-31-20, 13:00
You can't beat the Pulsar Core RXQ30V in that price range. I think they run around $1,900, and this site comes with a free mount.

https://www.ultimatenightvision.com/Pulsar-Core-RXQ30V-p/pl76483.htm

MegademiC
09-03-20, 07:15
I would look at the pulsar core, flir pts233, and also consider i2 nv.

Matt in TN
09-03-20, 08:50