PDA

View Full Version : Surefire MB556AR dB levels at the ear.

olds442tyguy
12-01-08, 00:25
I've heard the Surefire MB556AR muzzle brake increases decibel levels at the shooter's ear more than most average brakes. My question is, has anyone tested it, and if so, exactly how much louder is it?

Also, does anyone know the internal diameter of MI's free floating rails? They feel pretty wide on the outside, but I never bothered to pay attention to the internal clearances.

Bachelorjack
12-01-08, 06:21
What length barrel are you talking about?

olds442tyguy
12-01-08, 10:44
What length barrel are you talking about?
A 14.5". Any barrel length will work as a general example though.

Bachelorjack
12-01-08, 10:56
I'm not an engineer. But I'm going to wager that on different barrel lengths the Muzzle break is louder than it would be on others. I would also guess that as we go with a shorter barrel the muzzle break makes it worse for the shooter than if no muzzle break was present.

I will tell you from personal experience the Surefire mb556k on a 10.5 inch LMT takes an other wise controllable shorty and makes it damn near unmanageable. The sound isn't as much of an issue as the concussive blast and fireball.

http://www.vimeo.com/1522585?pg=transcoded_embed&sec=1522585

Excuse my laughing.

I would go with the other adapter, the flash hider one if you can get away with it.

olds442tyguy
12-01-08, 11:43
I'm not an engineer. But I'm going to wager that on different barrel lengths the Muzzle break is louder than it would be on others. I would also guess that as we go with a shorter barrel the muzzle break makes it worse for the shooter than if no muzzle break was present.

I will tell you from personal experience the Surefire mb556k on a 10.5 inch LMT takes an other wise controllable shorty and makes it damn near unmanageable. The sound isn't as much of an issue as the concussive blast and fireball.

Excuse my laughing.